From the Blog

Effective January 14, 2022, there are revisions to the CAL/OSHA COVID-19 Prevention Emergency Temporary Standards. Some Frequently Asked Questions follow.  Q. What are the main requirements of the revised ETS? A. Employers must develop written COVID-19 Prevent Programs or...

Read More

For nearly a decade, California’s Labor Code Section 1198.5 has imposed recordkeeping requirements on employers relating to employee files.   Existing Requirements Under the law, current and former employees are entitled to inspect and receive a copy of any personnel...

Read More

The California Family Rights Act (CFRA) gives most California employees the right to take up to 12 weeks of leave from work for health care for themselves or a family member or to bond with a new child after...

Read More

California Wage Theft 

Last fall, California Governor Newsom signed AB 1003, a law stating that employers’ intentional theft of wages or tips from employees constitutes and can be punishable as grand theft. The new wage theft law took effect on January 1,...

Read More

California continues to stress vaccination as a major factor in controlling COVID-19. Currently, as revised on December 22, 2021, and effective February 1, 2022, the state requires that those who work in certain types of locations must prove that...

Read More

California State Masking Order

As of January 5, 2020, California extended its indoor public spaces mask mandate for another month. The extension was in response to an unexpectedly high rate of Coronavirus infections arising from the highly transmissible Omicron variant of the virus....

Read More

A recently passed law directs Cal/OSHA to establish an advisory committee to recommend state policies designed to provide health and safety guidance for employers and employees in the domestic worker industry. A domestic worker in California provides services related...

Read More

Effective January 1, 2022, California’s new “Silenced No More Act” (Act) expanded limitations on confidentiality provisions in the settlement agreement for work-related claims.  These provisions previously applied only to sexual harassment and discrimination claims but will now apply to...

Read More

California’s AB 51, the 2019 addition to the California Labor Code, which prohibits employers from requiring applicants for employment and employees to waive any right, forum, or procedure in which the employee could raise an action against the employer...

Read More
An analog clock superimposed on sheets of money

Effective January 1, 2022, California’s Minimum Wage has changed. For large employers (those with 26 or more employees), the new minimum wage is $15.00 per hour. For employers with 25 or fewer employees, the new minimum wage is $14.00...

Read More